Bleedin' iPad

Forum for general cruising topics
User avatar
Nick
Admiral of the Blue
Posts: 5734
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 4:11 pm
Boat Type: Albin Vega 27
Location: Oban. Scotland
Contact:

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby Nick » Thu Jul 04, 2013 6:32 pm

Now it seems my iPad has no GPS - thought it was standard on the 3?

If it exists I can't find any way to turn it on to work with Memory Map
- Nick 8)

Image

MrMcP
Master Mariner
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:42 am
Boat Type: Other peoples...

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby MrMcP » Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:31 pm

Only 3G models have GPS. Other models try and guesstimate location from known wifi connections in range.

User avatar
Nick
Admiral of the Blue
Posts: 5734
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 4:11 pm
Boat Type: Albin Vega 27
Location: Oban. Scotland
Contact:

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby Nick » Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:51 pm

MrMcP wrote:Only 3G models have GPS. Other models try and guesstimate location from known wifi connections in range.


B0llox . . . Can it be added ?
- Nick 8)

Image

User avatar
ash
Yellow Admiral
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:14 pm
Boat Type: Moody 346
Location: Tarbert, East Loch Tarbert, Loch Fyne, Scotland

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby ash » Fri Jul 05, 2013 10:10 pm

Nick wrote:
B0llox . . . Can it be added ?

Does your iPad have Bluetooth? So that you could use a Bluetooth GPS transponder. More money!

Ash

PS - Will need to an eye on the For Sale for a bargain set of Memory Map!
"This is a sailing Forum"
Albin Vega "Mistral" is now sold

User avatar
wully
Yellow Admiral
Posts: 1207
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:29 pm
Boat Type: sailie boatie
Location: Argyll - where else?

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby wully » Sat Jul 06, 2013 12:05 pm

Nick wrote:B0llox . . . Can it be added ?


No.... :violin:

User avatar
Telo
Admiral of the Red
Posts: 2491
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:27 pm
Boat Type: Vancouver 34 Pilot
Location: Bampotterie-sur-mer
Contact:

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby Telo » Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:48 am

MrMcP wrote:Only 3G models have GPS. Other models try and guesstimate location from known wifi connections in range.


As a matter of interest, would a 3G model have a proper GPS system even if it didn't have a cellular 3G card fitted? IE, would the full GPS operate without having to take out a fresh contract with another telecom company?

User avatar
claymore
Admiral of the Green
Posts: 4356
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 2:55 pm
Boat Type: Claymore
Location: Ardfern or Lancashire

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby claymore » Mon Jul 29, 2013 10:38 am

Yes.
Dear Heart and Para have one - not a shared one, I hasten to add, but both can be used to navigate on.
Cost me £100 for a card, no contract
Regards
Claymore
:goatd

User avatar
wully
Yellow Admiral
Posts: 1207
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:29 pm
Boat Type: sailie boatie
Location: Argyll - where else?

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby wully » Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:38 pm

wully wrote:
Nick wrote:B0llox . . . Can it be added ?


No.... :violin:



Hang on: shove one of these on it.


http://www.amazon.com/Bad-Elf-1000-30-P ... B0035Y7ZJ2

User avatar
Nick
Admiral of the Blue
Posts: 5734
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 4:11 pm
Boat Type: Albin Vega 27
Location: Oban. Scotland
Contact:

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby Nick » Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:46 pm

Bluetooth is probably better . . .
- Nick 8)

Image

User avatar
Telo
Admiral of the Red
Posts: 2491
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:27 pm
Boat Type: Vancouver 34 Pilot
Location: Bampotterie-sur-mer
Contact:

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby Telo » Wed Jul 31, 2013 10:14 am

claymore wrote:Yes.
Dear Heart and Para have one - not a shared one, I hasten to add, but both can be used to navigate on.
Cost me £100 for a card, no contract


Thanks for that - makes it a more interesting proposition than taking out yet another mobile/Internet/dongle type contract.......

Excuse my ignorance of these these things, but I assume that your £100 card is an upfront £100 worth of data access which you are not required to use for GPS access? Or not? I realise that I'm making heavy weather of this.......

MrMcP
Master Mariner
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:42 am
Boat Type: Other peoples...

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby MrMcP » Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:46 pm

Shard wrote:
claymore wrote:Yes.
Dear Heart and Para have one - not a shared one, I hasten to add, but both can be used to navigate on.
Cost me £100 for a card, no contract


Thanks for that - makes it a more interesting proposition than taking out yet another mobile/Internet/dongle type contract.......

Excuse my ignorance of these these things, but I assume that your £100 card is an upfront £100 worth of data access which you are not required to use for GPS access? Or not? I realise that I'm making heavy weather of this.......

You don't need to use any data for GPS access, no. The reason it's only 3G ipads that have GPS is that the GPS chip lives on the same internal dooberywhatsit that the 3G technical wizardry uses. I have a 3G version of the original ipad, and only needed to have a SIM card to first activate the ipad, and it was a cheap £10 pay as you go thing. When it ran out I just left the card in there, and everything else - wifi, GPS - continues to work as normal. If I was heading away and wanted email or web access I can top up the SIM card data allowance before I go...

User avatar
Nick
Admiral of the Blue
Posts: 5734
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 4:11 pm
Boat Type: Albin Vega 27
Location: Oban. Scotland
Contact:

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby Nick » Sat Aug 03, 2013 10:26 am

Amazon have a Bluetooth device that sounds ideal. It means it can be elsewhere.
- Nick 8)

Image

User avatar
claymore
Admiral of the Green
Posts: 4356
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 2:55 pm
Boat Type: Claymore
Location: Ardfern or Lancashire

Re: Bleedin' iPad

Postby claymore » Sat Aug 03, 2013 3:08 pm

Shard wrote:
claymore wrote:Yes.
Dear Heart and Para have one - not a shared one, I hasten to add, but both can be used to navigate on.
Cost me £100 for a card, no contract


Thanks for that - makes it a more interesting proposition than taking out yet another mobile/Internet/dongle type contract.......

Excuse my ignorance of these these things, but I assume that your £100 card is an upfront £100 worth of data access which you are not required to use for GPS access? Or not? I realise that I'm making heavy weather of this.......

Well - now you have me. It was an extra £100 and it has gps. I dont pay to a contract although a tiresome message from EE suggests something about me needing one. Doesn't stop it working though.
My ipad is an old coal fired one and updates are getting tricky as it seems to need to eat something called an ios if I want it to access some of the latest apps.
It does what I need really - email and web access via my home hub
Regards
Claymore
:goatd


Return to “Shooting the breeze”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests