Buying a boat.

(Previously the YotBlog forums, now archived and combined here)
Garry72
Midshipman

Buying a boat.

Postby Garry72 » Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:37 am

Hi to you all.
Having just joined this forum and spent the last half hour looking for the appropriate place to post my first question I thought 'well it's about a boat topic' so i'll post it here.

Basically I am new to all this sailing lark and enjoying every minute of it too.
Having just completed day skipper theory and a dinghy sailing course, which was fun although quite cold, I am now faced with that daunting thought of 'I should get my own boat'!

I would like to go for a sailing yacht perhaps something around 35-45' long but sundenly realised that I know nothing of what is needed after buying the boat!
Ok you have to insure it and pay to keep it somewhere but can anyone tell me or point me in the right direction/book/website, as to what other things I need to think about when owning a boat?
I guess I am looking for a check list type answer that says when you purchase a yacht you need to do this, this and this.

Any help and advice would be much appreciated.
Many thanks
Garry

marisca
Yellow Admiral
Boat Type: Contessa 32

Re: Buying a boat.

Postby marisca » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:35 am

Welcome Garry, and I'm sure there will be others along soon to do the same.