day skipper exmination

Find crew or find a berth
danielelongo
Midshipman

day skipper exmination

Postby danielelongo » Sun Aug 24, 2008 12:19 am

Hi, all
me and my wife have a dream of sailing so that we are seriously looking for a boat.
meanwhile we are trying to get some experience and we want to get a day skipper RYA certificate.
I find the prices really extreme specially if need to be doubled,
so that I need to know if any one of you have never heard of a place or institution where is possible to go self-taught and give only the final examination.

Any news would be extremely help full
thank you all

little boy blue
Old Salt

Postby little boy blue » Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:33 am

welcome to the forum.

in answer to your query - no, there is nowhere you can self teach and just sit the final exam for rya sailing courses. the reason for this is that there is no " final " exam. the certificate awarded is a " course completion certificate " so you must do the whole course satisfactoriy to get the certificate.
if you sign up for the courses in the low season ( ie usually october to march ) the price will be cheaper. if you are buying 2 courses it might be worth haggling for some discount.

Silkie
Admiral of the Fleet
Boat Type: Hurley 22

Postby Silkie » Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:09 pm

Another possibility is that if you enquire about courses at various schools they will almost certainly put you on their mailing lists and in the event of them having a cancellation you might get a tempting offer. Worked for me anyway and I was able to negotiate from a position of strength by offering to fill both empty places. I took my son along and paid less than half price but had to promise not to tell the rest of the participants!

This should be in tip of the week. :)
different colours made of tears

danielelongo
Midshipman

thanks

Postby danielelongo » Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:35 pm

thanks for your answers great tips, other suggestion are very welcome!!!!

danielelongo
Midshipman