Dodgy VHF aerial help

How things work, what's hot and what's not
User avatar
cpedw
Old Salt
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 11:38 am
Boat Type: Nordship 35DS
Location: Oban

Re: Dodgy VHF aerial help

Postby cpedw » Mon Jul 13, 2015 8:19 am

sahona wrote:... as it will normally reach as far as the ships handheld even if the masthead aerial is mince.

I can vouch for that. I have used the HH to DIY radio check. I later found it's not an adequate test.
Derek

User avatar
aquaplane
Admiral of the White Rose
Posts: 1520
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 12:55 pm
Boat Type: Jeanneau Espace
Location: Body: West Yorks; Boat: Tayvallich
Contact:

Re: Dodgy VHF aerial help

Postby aquaplane » Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:39 pm

Having thought about it, the lock keeper had a HH and he was 3 yards away and got nothing, but that was from the mast head aerial. I didn't try the pushpit mounted one until much later.
Seminole.
Cheers Bob.

User avatar
ash
Yellow Admiral
Posts: 1717
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:14 pm
Boat Type: Moody 346
Location: Tarbert, East Loch Tarbert, Loch Fyne, Scotland

Re: Dodgy VHF aerial help

Postby ash » Mon Jul 13, 2015 6:50 pm

aquaplane wrote:Having thought about it, the lock keeper had a HH and he was 3 yards away and got nothing, but that was from the mast head aerial.

Can you be too close?

When I first got my H/H, I tried to call it from the main set / masthead while stood in the cockpit. Felt that it didn't work and assumed that the waves were going over my head. Tried it from further away on the pontoon with a helper on the main set and that seemed fine.

Ash
"This is a sailing Forum"
Albin Vega "Mistral" is now sold

User avatar
sahona
Admiral of the White
Posts: 1982
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:17 pm
Boat Type: Marcon Claymore
Location: Clyde

Re: Dodgy VHF aerial help

Postby sahona » Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:43 pm

Ash -yes, but don't ask for an explanation or conditions required. Funny things happen sometimes.
Aqua - if you take the fuse for the vhf out of the power line and use the meter set to amps (10) to bridge the gap, you will see what the set is trying to draw. It should register about 5 or 6 amps when transmitting at 25 watts. If less than this it's either dud or shut itself down due to a bad aerial/connection. -see what it does on both aerials to spot the odd one out.
http://trooncruisingclub.org/ 20' - 30' Berths available, Clyde.
Cruising, racing, maintenance facilities. Go take a look, you know you want to.


Return to “Gear and Gadgets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests