wind generator

How things work, what's hot and what's not
mm5aho
Old Salt
Boat Type: Rival 32

wind generator

Postby mm5aho » Mon May 20, 2013 12:59 pm

Considering this for next improvement list, but unsure of what brand and model....

I've too often been in a marina or mooring lying near someone with one of those that makes more sound than is comfortable.
I'm not sure how they sell some of those noisemakers. I was 25-100W output range, relatively small profile, quiet, not subject to excessive corrosion and trouble free.
Was thinking of possibly a Marlec Rutland 504 (the improved 503?).

Any views?
Geoff.
"Contender" Rival 32: Roseneath this winter, Gourock in summer.

cpedw
Old Salt
Boat Type: Nordship 35DS

Re: wind generator

Postby cpedw » Mon May 20, 2013 3:32 pm

Geoff,
I've been considering wind gens for quite a few years but I have still not committed any cash to one. I have instead installed a 20W solar panel. I am currently assessing how to fit a further 20 or 30W of solar on the boat.
Here are some reasons I haven't done it:

1. Danger. The fast-whirling near-invisible thing that's unlikely to be well above head height in most installations.
2. Output. The 504 needs a F5 to give 20W. I know the Scottish solar factor is quite small but I'm not very often in F5 or more for long periods. In particular, we spend a lot of time anchored/moored and the wind speed is hopefully F2/3 or less. That's about 0-3W from the 504 I think.
3. Noise. Some wind gens are very noisy externally. The Rutlands are good in this respect. There are some others that are notably quiet from the outside. But I gather that many cause very unpleasant noise/vibration below. As I see it, Acoustics engineers are close to Witchdoctors in the evolutionary tree. It's very difficult to predict how a particular installation will perform for noise below, and similarly challenging to resolve a bad one.