Orkney anchorage?

Tell us where you've been, trade information
mm5aho
Old Salt
Boat Type: Rival 32

Orkney anchorage?

Postby mm5aho » Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:59 pm

In August I hope to get to Orkney, and would like to anchor in "The Lash" on the north side of Graemesay Island, a little south of Stromness.
Can anyone advise the suitability of this spot to anchor for 2 days? (not leaving the boat unmanned)
Geoff.
"Contender" Rival 32: Roseneath this winter, Gourock in summer.

Fingal
Old Salt
Boat Type: Westerly Fulmar 32

Re: Orkney anchorage?

Postby Fingal » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:41 am

Hi Geoff
I am not an expert on Orkney but have been a couple of times. Do you mean Bay of Sandside? I have never anchored in there and would probably not choose to do so. The bottom is shown as Stones or Weed, it's pretty shoal and I doubt if one could safely get very far in. The tide runs past there at some pretty cracking rates and I very much doubt if the bay offers much if any shelter from the tide. Pegal Bay in Rysa Sound looks like a better bet to me, or Bay of Ireland, out of the tide and plenty of room. A bit farther South the anchorage at Longhope is excellent.
Ken
Fulmar 32 Fingal

mm5aho
Old Salt

Postby mm5aho » Sun Jun 14, 2015 1:44 pm

Thanks Ken,
I should explain the motive.
Each August for the past few years I've participated in a ham radio event linking lighthouses. (http://www.illw.net/)